Complete Story


2021 Hooper and Collegiate winners

Hooper Postcard 2021On February 26 the ONMA hosted the virtual award ceremonies for the Osman C. Hooper Non-Daily Newspaper Competition, which recognizes the best non-daily newspapers in Ohio, and the Ohio Collegiate Newspaper and Website Competition, which recognizes the achievements of Ohio’s college and university newspapers.

The overall Hooper Award Newspaper of the Year winners are:

  • DIVISION A: West Life
  • DIVISION B: Geauga County Maple Leaf
  • DIVISION C: The Yellow Springs News

This year’s Collegiate General Excellence Award winners are:

  • DIVISION A: The Lantern, The Ohio State University
  • DIVISION B: Cedars, Cedarville University

Here are links to the Hooper ceremony video, booklet and judges' comments:

Here are links to the Collegiate ceremony video, booklet and judges' comments:

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!

If you have any questions about the Hooper or Collegiate Awards, contact the ONMA's Jason Sanford at

Printer-Friendly Version