Ohio News Media Association

Advancing Ohio's news media and local journalism since 1933

Complete Story


2017 Hooper Award and Collegiate Competition winners

The winners of the Osman C. Hooper Newspaper Awards and the Ohio Collegiate Newspaper and Website Competition were announced on February 9 at the Ohio Newspaper Association's annual convention in Columbus. The Hooper Awards honor the best weekly newspapers in Ohio while the Collegiate Competition recognizes the achievements of Ohio’s college and university newspapers.

The overall winners of the Hooper Awards were:

The recipients of the Collegiate Competition's Frank E. Deaner Award for General Excellence in Collegiate Journalism were:

For the complete list of award winners, along with samples of the newspapers' photos, articles and design work, access the award booklet through Issuu.